BRETTENHAM PARISH COUNCIL

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING
Held on Thursday 10th May 2018 at the Village Hall commenced at 7.30 pm

.....

MINUTES

Present

Chairman Mr C Clarke, Vice-Chairman Mr D Golding, Clerk/RFO Mrs J Moulding, Councillors Mrs L Collings, Ms B Cronk, Mr P Truin, Ms E Woods, Mr P Bendall, Internal Auditor Mr R Bere and Edith Bere, SCC Councillor Robert Lindsey, Footpath Officer Martin Annis, Gardening Club Chairman Carrie Dye, BVA vice Chairman Peter Knight.

- 1 Election of Chairman. Mr C Clarke confirmed that he was willing to continue as Chairman and Cllr P Truin proposed his election for a further term and was seconded by Cllr B Cronk.
- 2 Newly elected Chairman completed and signed 'Declaration of Acceptance of Office' and the declaration was duly signed by the RFO/Clerk Jane Moulding as Proper Officer for the council.
- 3 Accepted and approved apologies for absence from BDC Councillor Mike Creffield, Neighbourhood Watch Co-ordinator Val McGuill and Kemal and Julie Ozficici.
- 4 Resolved that the Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held on the 11th May 2017 were a correct record (Minutes Circulated prior to meeting) and were signed by the Chairman.
- 5 Received the report of Accounts for the year ended 31 March 2018 (unaudited but approved by the Internal Auditor) from the Clerk/RFO.
 - 5.1 Unanimously approved and accepted the Annual Governance Statement in Section 1 of the annual return which were signed by the Chairman and RFO.
 - 5.2 Unanimously approved and accepted the Accounting Statements in Section 2 of the annual return which were signed by the Chairman and RFO.
 - 5.3 Unanimously approved and certified the Exemption from a limited assurance review which was signed by the Chairman and RFO.
- 6 The following elections and appointments were made:
 - 6.1 Vice-Chairman. At the meeting the current Vice Chairman Cllr David Golding formally handed in his resignation as a Parish Councillor. Thanks were extended by the Chairman to David Golding for his support during his time as councillor. Cllr Emily Woods proposed Cllr Paul Bendall as Vice Chairman, Cllr Paul Bendall declined to accept the position. Cllr Peter Truin then nominated Cllr Emily Woods as Vice Chairman which Cllr Emily Woods accepted and this was unanimously approved by the rest of the councillors.
 - 6.2 Internal Auditor. Roger Bere was proposed by Chairman Chris Clarke, Roger Bere accepted the position and was unanimously approved by the rest of the councillors.
 - 6.3 Planning Chairman/Committee. Cllr Paul Bendall was proposed by Chairman Chris Clarke and was unanimously approved by the rest of the councillors.
 - 6.4 SALC Representative. Following the resignation of Cllr David Golding, this position is vacant and it was agreed that the election for this role was deferred to the next meeting.
 - 6.5 Suffolk Passenger Transport Representative. Cllr Peter Truin was proposed by Cllr B Cronk and unanimously approved by the rest of the councillors.
 - 6.6 Footpath Liaison Officer. Martin Annis was proposed by Chairman C Clarke and unanimously approved by the rest of the councillors.
 - 6.7 Tree Officer. Following the recent resignation of Wendy O'Hara (Wakeman), Andrew Gooderham has volunteered for the role. His appointment was proposed by Chairman Chris Clarke and unanimously approved by the rest of the councillors.
 - 6.8 Website Co-ordinator. Emma McKenna was proposed by Chairman C Clarke and unanimously approved by the rest of the councillors.
 - 6.9 Neighbourhood Watch Co-ordinator. Val McGuill was proposed by Chairman C Clarke and unanimously approved by the rest of the councillors.

Minutes Brettenham Parish Council AGM 10th May 2018

Additional Item

6.10 Rattlesden Flying Club Liaison Officer. Martin Frey has agreed to stand again and his appointment was proposed by Chairman Chris Clarke and unanimously approved by the rest of the councillors.

7 Reviewed and confirmed the following:

- 7.1 Cheque signatories; currently all cheques are signed by both the Chairman Chris Clarke and Vice Chairman David Golding, with a further signatory Cllr Lindsey Collings designated as a signatory to authorise payments along with one of the other signatories if either the Chairman or Vice Chairman are unavailable to authorise payments. Following the resignation of Cllr David Golding it was proposed by Chairman Chris Clarke that the new vice Chairman Cllr Emily Woods would be the new signatory, this was unanimously approved by the rest of the councillors.
- 7.2 Standing Orders, due to the new GDPR policies coming into force with effect from the 25th May 2018 these need to be fully reviewed, Clerk/RFO will review and circulate to the Cllrs prior to the July meeting.
- 7.3 Current Internal Procedures & Controls, due to the new GDPR policies coming into force with effect from the 25th May 2018 these need to be fully reviewed, Clerk/RFO will review and circulate to the Cllrs prior to the July meeting.
- 7.4 Financial Regulations, due to the new GDPR policies coming into force with effect from the 25th May 2018 these need to be fully reviewed, Clerk/RFO will review and circulate to the Cllrs prior to the July meeting.
- 7.5 Current Code of Conduct, due to the new GDPR policies coming into force with effect from the 25th May 2018 these need to be fully reviewed, Clerk/RFO will review and circulate to the Cllrs prior to the July meeting.
- 7.6 Current Terms of Reference for Planning Sub Committee were adopted by the Cllrs on the 9th February 2018 and it was unanimously agreed to approve these until the next review date in 2019.

Additional Item

- 8 Appointment of new Parish Councillor
 - 8.1 Chairman Chris Clarke advised that the process of co-opting a new Parish Councillor would now begin and that notices would be posted at the Village Hall, in the magazine and on the website. Subsequent to the meeting; Notice of vacancy has been posted and if request for election is not requested by at least ten electors by the 5th June 2018 then a new councillor can be co-opted.

The meeting closed at 20.52.

Jane Moulding Clerk/RFO

Tel 01449 736178 – Email: brettenhamparishcouncil@btinternet.com

Circulation:

Mr Chris Clarke, Chairman*

Ms Emily Woods, Vice-Chairman (also Village Website Co-ordinator)*

Councillors:

Mr Paul Bendall (also Chairman, Planning Committee)*

Mrs Lindsey Collings*

Miss Beverley Cronk *

Mr Peter Truin* (also Suffolk Passenger Transport and BVA Representative)

Councillor Position Vacant

SALC Representative Position Vacant

Mr Martin Annis, Footpath Liaison Officer*

Mr Roger Bere, Internal Auditor*

Mr Andrew Gooderham, Tree Officer*

Val McGuill New Neighbourhood Watch Co-ordinator*

VHNB/Village Website